Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Purchasing a new Egg... What do I need?

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I plan to purchase a large BGE very soon... I will either purchase or build a suitable table... What I need to know is what exactly will I need to get off to a good start? Upgrades, tools, firebricks, etc... I'm a complete novice but really want to get into this... any suggestions would be very welcome...

Comments

• Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
    genehil, Welcome to the forum.
    You will see pro's and con's on firebricks vs ceramic pizza stones vs plate sitters. A plate sitter is a ceramic flat circular device with 3 legs to support it. [p]I will kick start this one with only one suggestion and that is if you plan on using any type of ceramic or firebrick use a cheap iron welded rod grill. (Weber makes several, both chromed and plain jane that will work)
    It will rust and look like the dickens but you won't ruin it's finish. Porcelain is not suitable as the extreme heat from the brick or stones will tarnish and remove the porcelain. [p]Onward and upward..and again, welcome aboard.[p]

• ChefRD
    ChefRD Posts: 438
    genehil,
    Hello and glad to meet you.
    For starting out, here are some items I think are very useful and will make your life easier.