Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lid trouble

Options
Hi All, I have been egging for about 2 1/2 years. Tonight I noticed that the lid was leaking smoke and it seemed to be not aligned properly. This is the first time that I have noticed this problem. I am hoping that the fine people of this forum might have a idea or 2 for me. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,895
    Options
    2 solid points come to mind.

faulty gasket

planes issue

Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • tferk
    tferk Posts: 34
    Options
    Thanks , what is a planes issue and what do I do about that?
  • OhioEgger
    OhioEgger Posts: 903
    Options
    A picture or two would help
    Cincinnati, Ohio. Large BGE since 2011. Still learning.
  • tferk
    Options
    Been thinking about a new gasket
  • buzd504
    buzd504 Posts: 3,824
    Options
    tferk said:
    Thanks , what is a planes issue and what do I do about that?
    Too many overhead flights will affect the gravitation pull of your hinges and knock your dome out of alignment.  The FAA has a BGE page where you can fill out a form and designate your property as a no-fly zone (I think it's linked from the drone pages).  It took care of mine right away.
    NOLA
  • tferk
    Options
    sorry if I sound stupid but I thought I could get some help here
  • RRP
    Options
    tferk said:

First - Inspect your gaskets - at 2.5 years with the OEM gaskets they have out lived their useful life! But, hey, what do I know about gaskets?  ;)