Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie here with a LBGE

Thank you for this forum and for all the great posts.  After years of wanting one, I finally purchased a LBGE on Friday.  Since I have already used it twice and had a couple of questions.  First is how can i get it to cook more evenly?  After I light it and then get the temp to where I want it, I notice that parts of the grate seem to cook the meat faster then the other side, usually its the left side that seems hotter than the right.  Also I purchased the Grate Stacker from Smokeware.  Would this be okay to use when cooking Chicken and Beef together, I usually don't like to cook them both together but was curious about how the Egg would do.  Thank you for taking the time to read this long post.  Greatly appreciated.

Comments

• piney
    piney Posts: 1,478
    Welcome aboard my new friend! Congrats on your new LBGE.
    Lenoir, N.C.
  • blind99
    blind99 Posts: 4,971
    The best I can do for quick even heat is to light a chimney starter full of coals and dump them evenly across the top. 

Otherwise, I light in three places and give it time for the fire to spread and even out. 

Even still there will be hotter and cooler areas. If I'm grilling I just work with it and move and flip as needed. 

Another option is to go raised direct like for a spatchcock chicken.  Up in the dome, with the convection and the reflect heat, things cook pretty evenly. 

Keep at it- the egg is not perfect but it's super versatile and a lot of fun once you learn it's quirks. 

Welcome!