Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rockwood Lump - How much wood?

Options
NJEgger
NJEgger Posts: 9
edited January 2017 in EggHead Forum
Based on many threads on this forum, I tried Rockwood lump for the first time this weekend.  Wow!  What a difference!  I had been using BGE brand or Royal Oak for the past three months.  As my nose got used to the smell of good/bad smoke I started noticing a bit of a stink coming off the BGE lump about 2-3 hours into a cook, which prompted my switch to Rockwood.  The Rockwood lit faster, came up to temp faster and cleared of VOCs faster (the smoke was so blue I couldn't believe it).  It also removed the background "flavor" the BGE and RO lump was giving to all of my food.  My 3 1/2 year old daughter, wise beyond her years, noticed this background flavor by always telling me, "this tastes like the Egg."  Without the background flavor, the food and wood really were allowed to shine through.

So, now I have to re-learn how much wood to use without having to compensate for the large amount of bad flavor being added from the BGE and RO lump.  I did a 4.5lb pork butt this weekend with 3 large chunks of cherry and the smoke flavor was much less than I was expecting.  I know it's a matter of personal preference, but how much wood do folks use when cooking with a clean-burning lump like Rockwood if I'm trying to get a good solid smoke flavor?
XL Egg hatched November 2016

Comments

• etherdome
    etherdome Posts: 471
    edited January 2017
    Options