Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Picking up the 1st Egg in the morning

Hello Eggers... I'm new to the BGE.  I'm picking up my first egg in the morning.  Any tips for a NOOB striaght out of the gate.  I've been lurking on the forums for a while as I've made the decision to jump to the big leagues.  I look forward to learning from all the experienced folks on here's. Thanks in advance.  

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Welcome and congrats on your new egg.

When you get it set up, I'd put in a few pounds of lump, light the top and play around with regulating it.  This will also help in burning out any funk from the factory/shipping.   At some point get it up to 400 or so. 

Remember it will heat up fast, but reducing temp...not so fast because of the thermal mass.

Anyway, after you burn up your starter lump, load it up with more and cook something.  Reason I suggest a small amount to start is to have your fire at the bottom so you clean it out well.

Have fun!

Just start cooking using your grilling experience and roasting/baking experience.  Peruse this forum searching for cooks you're interested in.  Ask specific questions and folks here will guess at best answers ;)
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • caliking
    caliking Posts: 18,727
    Congrats!! And welcome aboard.

As you learn how to regulate temp and egg your favorite proteins, remember to never push the egg when trying to move it. Pull it by the handle if you have to roll it around (assuming you have it in a nest).