Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Meat Thermometer

I am very new to BBQ and the EGG World. Can someone recommend a very good meat thermometer that measures internal temps and is very reliable?  Thanks

Bill
Ft worth, TX

"He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes, but he who never asks a question is a fool forever."

-Dr. D. Tartar

Comments

• Gunnar
    Gunnar Posts: 2,307
    Thermapen might be one of the most common on the forum...around $80
    LBGE      Katy (Houston) TX
  • gator753
    gator753 Posts: 81

thermapen

Marshall, TX

LBGE 2016
  • miniscus
    miniscus Posts: 27
    Thanks you for your comments/input!
    Bill
    Ft worth, TX

"He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes, but he who never asks a question is a fool forever."

-Dr. D. Tartar
  • Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    If you don't want to spend that much, you can get a thermopop from the same company http://www.thermoworks.com/?gclid=CJHPt9rnjM4CFUYdgQod6m8H-g

Large BGE
    Barry, Lancaster, PA
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,167
    The thermoworks products mentioned above are instant read thermos that require you to access the meat (open the BGE) at the time of the reading.  If you are looking for something that you can insert and leave for the duration of a low&slow cook then you  are looking for something like a Maverick ET-732 or related.  And you can get quite tricked out with the remote and bluetooth options should you desire.
    BTW-welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.