Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

BGE charcoal: Anyone else having trouble getting their BGE up to temp?

Options
I saw one other thread on this topic but wasn't sure what kind of charcoal was being used.  I will tell you I am going to sound crazy here but I have been using my XL BGE for 5 1/2 years and use it frequently.  I am not a novice and over the years have developed a pretty good feel for how much lump I need to achieve a desired temp and how long it will take to get there.  

But lately I have had repeated issues with not being able to get up to temp.  Or requiring a lot more charcoal than usual to get up to temp.  I have cleaned all of the ash out of the base and made sure to clear out as much ash from the bottom of the egg before I use it.  I really can't wrap my brain around what else the issue is other than the quality of wood in BGE charcoal is not what it used to be, or I have simply lost my "mojo".  But I didn't have these kinds of issues even when I was a novice, not nearly to this extent.  If anything when I was a newbie I made the mistake of walking away when the vents were open and coming back to find it way too hot.  

A couple of weeks ago I was trying to get up to 550 to cook pizzas, not once but twice I had to take off the grid and baking stone, as well as the plate setter, and add more lump.  Completely unheard of for me to have this issue before a few months ago.