Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked Salmon advice

Texas Geezer
Texas Geezer Posts: 55
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a relative newbie, but have had some great success with beef and pork cuts under my belt. Now my wife wants me to try smoked salmon. So I've been searching the archives for technique advise. What I've found seems a bit contradictory to me, and maybe a little confusing, and most of it is pretty old (so maybe there's some fresh, new-thinking, experience here.)[p]Alder wood is virtually impossible to find in my area in any form but bagged chips. So I'm tempted to try cedar, and specifically using a plank made from untreated fencing material.[p]I know about soaking the plank in water for a few hours before use, but was wondering if wrapping the bottom edge in aluminum foil would help to preserve it, and to make the smoke more subtle. Or is that merely going to defeat the purpose?[p]What is the preferred set-up? Most of the older advise seems to have been written before the plate setter was available. Is it best done direct with the grill in the "normal" position? Or with the plate setter inverted and grill on top of that? Does use of the plate setter in the cooking configuration alter the utility of using a plank, or even obviate the need to wrap the bottom of the plank in foil?[p]Or - shades of smoked salmon cooking blasphemy here - is the cedar plank method really better than using the alder wood chips with the lump?[p]Help! Too many options here, and if I don't get this right my reputation will be ruined.

Comments

• Sandbagger