Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beef Brisket Rub and Tips for Newbies

I have been experimenting with Brisket rubs for the past six years and have found the recipe below to be the best. 

Two things to note:

1. Don't cake it on, you want the rub to be complimentary to the beef flavor, not overpowering.
2. Leave the seasoning on the brisket for at least 24 hours in the fridge before cooking (first layer in plastic wrap, then second layer of foil wrap)

4 tablespoons kosher or coarse salt
6 teaspoons black pepper
6 teaspoons paprika
2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
3 teaspoon oregano leaves (dried)
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
3 teaspoons granulated garlic
¾ Cup Montreal Steak Seasoning

Give it a try and I think you'll be very, very happy. 

My tips for those new to smoking brisket:

Have a drip pan filled with water and/or beef stock (I usually put some seasonings in the water as well).

When placing on grill, place cap side up with fattest part of the brisket facing away from you towards the back (usually it’s the hottest area on a komodo/egg grill).

***Cook at around 235 degrees until meat temperature reaches 185-190 in thickest part (that's the range when the fat renders to an edible state).  Immediately wrap it in two layers of heavy duty foil and put it in a cooler (the cheap Styrofoam ones from the supermarket work fine as long as it's thick).  Let it rest for at least 40 minutes, but a few hours in there won't hurt it either.

Don't freak out when it reaches the stall or if the internal temp rises too fast in the beginning, because it WILL hit that stall.