Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

BGE Novice

Chipper
Chipper Posts: 35
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have had my BGE for about six months now. I am still learning it's nuances. So far I love it. Working on my third bag of lump. I use it as a grill and a smoker. This summer I would fire it up to cook a couple of chicken breasts (just so I didn't have to heat up the kitchen with the oven.) I would not have done that with my old grill. I've done steaks, burgers and dogs, ribs, and smoked a ham. I have tried a couple of whole chickens, but I have not quite gotten the hang of them yet. My favorite cook, so far, has been thick cut pork chops. I rinse them off, sprinkle with a little salt and cracked black pepper. The Egg dome has been heated to about 275 with some soaked hickory or mesquite chips. Grill for about 15 to 20 minutes, turning once. Tender, juicy, and flavorful. I tried Elder Ward's pulled pork recipe a couple of months ago. It was absolutly wonderful. My thanks to him for posting it. I have just gotten back from the butcher shop with a couple of nice Boston butts. We are going to have a go at the pulled pork again this weekend. I will let y'all know how it went.

Comments

• Gfw
    Gfw Posts: 1,598
    Chipper, based on your post, I really don't think that you are a BGE Novice - sounds like a lot of good cooking - pulled pork is SOoooo good! Tomorrow it's more beef jerky and on Sunday some Memphis-Style baby back ribs. Other projectes for tomorrow include making a new supply of both my regular and Memphis-Style BBQ sauce - have a really great weekend!