Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rockwood Conundrum

My dealer started me off with Nature Glo and I went through several bags of it.  Then I discovered some Royal Oak at Menards ... cheaper than Nature Glo and supposedly the same stuff, so I went through more than several bags of it. Over Christmas I ended up driving past Dave's Ace Hardware where I bought a stash of Rockwood.  Gave a bag to my BGE dealer to try it ... feel a little like a drug dealer trying to get him hooked on it.

I'm not a lump expert by any means.  But, even I can tell the difference between Royal Oak and Rockwood.  I became a convert with the first cook ... plain and simple.  Finished the fourth cook with it tonight ... yes, I'm conservative and wanted to triple check to be sure the first cook wasn't a fluke. Rockwood starts easily, comes to temp quickly, and smells sweet well before the egg is at temp.  Burn time is great.  What more can you expect of a bag of carbon?  My wife doesn't like heavy smoke, so she gives it a double thumbs up.  And, if she's happy, yep, I'm ecstatic.

I don't want to be evangelical over the conversion.  In fact, I'm not sure it's beneficial to attempt to convert others.  Jonathan has a finite supple of lump ... if others start using it, maybe there won't be enough to go around ... hmmm ... what to do ...that's the conundrum ...

Washington, IL  >  Queen Creek, AZ ... Two large eggs and an adopted Mini Max

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,880