Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Achieving High Temps?

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm relatively new to egging, and only recently did my first round of steaks on my egg. I was not able to achieve temps higher than 600 or 620 degrees. I filled my egg with new lump, over the older lump that was in the firebox already, and then lit it in two places with fire starters. After 10 minutes, I shut the lid and kept both vents wide open. It quickly reached 600, but never got hotter.[p]Should I have removed the old lump? Should I have let the fire burn with the lid up for longer than 10 minutes? [p]Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. [p]And by the way, the steaks stilled turned out very well, but I would love to get my sear temps even higher.[p]Thanks!

Comments

• TJP,