Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cedar plank

shannonlcorum
shannonlcorum Posts: 200
edited February 2014 in Seafood

Are these like 1 time use boards? I used one last night and it got pretty charred on the bottom. I soaked it for a long time (1+ hours) beforehand, but it's pretty burned. I've never used one before and so I wasn't sure what their life expectancy was.

ShannyShooShoo 
Owner of 1 Mini BGE and 1 Wood-fired Brick Oven.
Mother of 4 boys, 1 obese feline, 1 mean-assed chow, 1 rowdy bulldog, and 6 completely spoiled sugar gliders

Comments

• Foghorn
    Foghorn Posts: 9,795
    I only use them one time, but I have the luxury of having received a bunch as gifts that are sitting on my shelves.  I know some people here re-use them multiple (3 or 4) times.  I think that they assess it after each use and make a call on whether or not they want to clean and re-use - or just toss it. 

XXL BGE, Karebecue, Klose BYC, Chargiller Akorn Kamado, Weber Smokey Mountain, Grand Turbo gasser, Weber Smoky Joe, and the wheelbarrow that my grandfather used to cook steaks from his cattle

San Antonio, TX

• Canugghead
    Canugghead Posts: 11,453
    edited February 2014
    I seldom reuse ... more concerned about the side that was in contact with food, the charred side doesn't bother me.

Instead of fancy schmancy shrink wrapped individual planks, I buy untreated cedar fence boards from big orange/blue and cut them as needed to fit he salmon piece(s).  Some folks even buy bundle of cedar shingles!
    canuckland
  • henapple
    henapple Posts: 16,025