Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Some help with indirect Fish on the AR

jfm0830
jfm0830 Posts: 987
edited January 2014 in EggHead Forum
I am looking to make a recipe for trout that gets coated with breadcrumbs and is grilled using indirect high heat (450-550 degrees). I have an AR and lots of accessories for it, but am a total newbie. The setup I was thinking of using was oval pizza stone at level 1.5, round s/s drip pan at levels 3 and oval grid at level 4.5 for the indirect fish. It should be noted: the fish won't extend beyond the slightly smaller drip pan so no worries of drips getting on stone.

The other possibility is using the Rig Extender and d-grid to get the fish higher into the dome. I haven't cooked fish high indirect on any grill and certainly not with the AR & Egg. I don't have time for a test run sadly, I need to get it right first time out.

Any comments or suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Jim
3 LBGE & More Eggcessories than I care to think about.

Comments

• GrannyX4
    GrannyX4 Posts: 1,491
    I would be afraid the bread crumbs would burn before the fish cooked on that high of heat. Dizzy pig cooks breaded wings on his web site and explains how he does it. His information might help you out a little.
    Every day is a bonus day and every meal is a banquet in Winter Springs, Fl !
  • Griffin
    Griffin Posts: 8,200