Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My Pizza Dough Recipe!

Anthony Up North
Anthony Up North Posts: 205
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
[p]Pizza crust recipes are variations of each other. I have been making bread - 4 loaves - once a week for over 25 years. In the past then years I have settled on one standard recipe for the white bread we like. That is because almost all bread recipies are variations from the basic one.[p]That is also true of pizza. All need flour, yeast, salt, oil and water. Some add sugar to make the yeast more active, which will give you a puffier crust. Some omit the oil, which makes dough more tender. Salt retards the action of the yeast - and adds to the taste.[p]The pizza recipe I have used for almost five years now is very simple.[p]1 1/2 to 2 cups of flour. (this is never exact)
2 tsp. yeast. (regular active yeast - NOT machine bread yeast.
1/2 tsp salt.
1 tbsp. of olive oil.
2/3 cup water at about 110 degrees (3/4 cup water will require a bit more flour and therefore crust will be thicker).[p]Spices to taste.
I use: (all dryed)
1 tbsp. of crushed fennel (we love fennel on pizza)
1 tsp. of Oregano.
1 tsp. of Thyme.