Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Live Oak for Smoke

I lost several large limbs out of my live oak in the icemageddon last week. I cut it up and got it off the fence, but before I drag it to the trash I thought I'd ask the forum. Has anyone smoked with live oak before, is it a strong or light flavor? I like mesquite and my wife like apple or no smoke. What is the drying time, six months, a year?

Comments

• I'm no wood expert but IMHO I would let it dry first. I've heard of some using green wood but I'm not sure about that. Hopefully someone will come along and give a better answer for you. Good luck.
    XL owner in Wichita, KS
  • bigguy136
    bigguy136 Posts: 1,362
    Not sure about the green vs dry but I've been wanting to try oak for some time. I've read many use it when doing ribs.

Big Lake, Minnesota

2X Large BGE, 1 Mini Max, Stokers, Adjustable Rig

• sumoconnell
    sumoconnell Posts: 1,932
    Oak is great wood, I'd keep it if you can.  Drying wood takes time, if the limbs are thick I bet a year isn't too far off.  If they are thick, you should split before you stack.  Since you are doing this for the Egg anyway, I bet if you split/cut into chunks now it would dry out much faster.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Austin, Texas.  I'm the guy holding a beer.
  • Oak is GREAT smoke-wood.

Some say green or seasoned, no difference, but I like mine seasoned. Cut and split it will dry pretty fast (a few months will do with small splits.

• billybon
    billybon Posts: 213