Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How should I properly season a 19" wok (XL)

Wat's up Eggheads:

Let me preface this post with I am a newb when comes to wokking..... 

I just received my 19" wok from CGS last night. I watched a video (youtube) on how to season a wok and it showed the woman putting the wok in the oven for 20 mins or so at 400 degrees followed by frying chives to remove the metallic taste. 

I tried but my wok wont fit in the oven. Do I bake it then fry the chives all in the egg or is there a more preferred method to season? 

Any help is greatly appreciated. 
XL BGE 
Joe JR 
Baltimore, MD

Comments

• Just do the chive thing, and then start cooking.  The "science" of seasoning is way overanalyzed.  Don't try to dry fry anything for the first few cooks.  Oil is your friend.  Soon, it will be black and non-stick (to a point) and eventually, a patina will form.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious

• never mind :))

You are in good hands

Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • never mind :))

You are in good hands

You are wise, Grasshopper.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious

• GATABITES
    GATABITES Posts: 1,260
    So will the food stick to the wok without the patina? I guess you are saying to use more oil to prevent sticking? 
    XL BGE 
    Joe JR 
    Baltimore, MD
  • Black_Badger
    Black_Badger Posts: 1,182