Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Am I making this L BGE table project too difficult?

I want to get my table built.  Like many projects, I throw too much planning into it and stew over the smallest things.  Here is what I want and some of what is holding me back.  First off, it will be a L BGE table and table top will measure 57"x27".  I am planning a granite remnant for the top.  I want drawers in the table end opposite the egg, and a drawer under the egg.  Being a woodworker, I can do this any number of ways.  But building a case provides the most stable, accurate, and long lasting support for drawers.  When completed, it will be stored with a cover over it, in a covered alcove and out of the weather.  But I am sure there may be a day that it is cooking away in the rain or snow.  So I am concerned about using plywood to build the case.  I have considered a solid substrate such as baltic birch plywood for this, but want the look of a nicer veneer, like red oak.  I am also still toying with the faces and support wood on the other end of the table and considering mesquite vs red oak.  I am reconsidering my joinery as well due to the weight it supports.  A front and rear face frame glued and attached to the case will support the non egg end just fine, and the egg end of the face frame would be the main stringers for the front/back of the table both top and bottom.  And on the egg end, I am considering 4"x4" posts to make the look I am after.  Then the non egg end would be balanced with the same look using 4"x1" material.  Basically, none of the plywood used would have ed