Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first butt today!

Doing my first slow & low indirect today on my MGBE.  Seasoned ~7LB butt last night.  Just fired up Egg @ 8:30am.  Planning to sear butt on all sides on cast iron then smoke slow.  I am open to any suggestions but I guess my 2 main questions: what cooking temp am I going for AND what internal temp on the meat?  I'm pretty new to this game so be verbose! :)

My 7 year old named my BGE Shrek because it is big, green & it burps.
My daughter named my Egg Shrek, because it is big, green, and burps.  
LBGE in Arlington, VA
God Bless America!

Comments

• Chris_Wang
    Chris_Wang Posts: 1,254
    Do you have a set dinner time?

Ball Ground, GA

ATL Sports Homer

• Shrek
    Shrek Posts: 67
    Do you have a set dinner time?
    No.. and I have some chicken breasts as back-up incase this goes past dinner.
    LBGE in Arlington, VA
    God Bless America!
  • Chris_Wang
    edited August 2013
    I do 250° grid temp on my Medium until IT reaches 195°. I usually FTC for at least an hour after that, but @Eggcelsior said it really wasn't necessary. Do you have a Maverick or any other device like a Guru?

Ball Ground, GA

ATL Sports Homer

• Shrek
    FTC?  Foil Towel Cooler?  I have a wired therm & I will be here all day so can check.
    Thanks!  
    LBGE in Arlington, VA
    God Bless America!
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    edited August 2013