Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoke taste

Options
Absolute newb here. I have done chicken halves, burgers, steaks and had a run at spare ribs. Love the info on the forum. I got pretty good with my Weber gas but was really looking for being able to do low and slow as well as the taste of charcoal from my youth. There's the thing. I've been really happy so far. I've heard of kids saying "this burger tastes funny" because they have no familiarity with charcoal. I didn't count on my wife though. I realize that asking meat cooked over lump charcoal not to have some smoke taste is like complaining that the swimming pool is wet. However, I think I'm to fault here. I notice that the smell/taste early on is much more pungent and not as pleasant as later in the cook. I think my impatience has resulted in doing a fair amount of cooking while burning off the VOCs. In the experience of the folks here, do you think that could be the case? If it is, what is the best way of avoiding this on direct cooks as well as low and slow? I think I've developed a pretty good idea on this but am looking for the voice of experience. Thanks.

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,337
    Options