Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Functional, Durable, Clean! Finally done with my eggs new home :)

Hey gang,

I've been a member / lurker for a while but not a frequent poster.  I've been cooking on BGE's for about 10 years now.  I have a large, a small and a mini.  
I want to share with you my completed outdoor kitchen and some of the various steps of construction.  
The design was to be durable, functional and clean looking.  I went through many, many variations of the layout and decided on my 2stone Pizza Grill, a small BGE and a Large BGE.  There is a 15" wide drawer that pulls out for a garbage can and storage and then two more for coal storage, tools, utensils, etc and a 'fridge.
I just finished it last week and have cooked on it a number of times and it's a joy to work on.  I couldn't be happier.  One thing I noticed on my first cook which was a paella was how nice it is to have the eggs perfectly leveled for certain things.  When the paella pan was filled up with liquid, it stayed perfectly dispersed and more importantly evaporated evenly, ensuring a nice, thick, even soccorat.
This was the first drawing I made this winter, not what I made but a starting point:

a later, computer rendering of a different layout

we sunk a number of tubes past the frost line to make a foundation:

the foundation was plumbed with water, electric and gas, all in boring sleeves.  You can see some of the 8x8 limestone in the corner of this pic.  The sides and back are limestone.