Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Frustrated with my new Mini

SmokyBear
SmokyBear Posts: 389
edited July 2013 in EggHead Forum
Hey, guys..OK..I'll admit that I'm a total noob with the Mini.  But, this thing is driving me nuts.

No matter what I try, I CANNOT get a good fire going and get it to stay lit across the entire fire box - without it taking me 20-30 min of putzing around.

I tried the Rutland starter cubes (one cube cut into three pieces and set vertically into the lump at 1st, 2nd and 3rd base), and that just didn't get a good fire going..

Added a paper towel soaked in Canola oil..basically laid down one level of Lump (RO), then soaked paper towel, then another layer of RO (piece in the middle with longer pieces on top like a spoke of a wheel).  Starter cube pieces in same place. 

With the towel, everything lights just ducky - but it flames, and flames, and flames..and I'm not sure when to close the dome as I have flame roaring up over the grid for a good 10+ minutes.

If I shut the dome (DFMT totally off, draft door totally open), the fire inevitably goes out, and I get 10-15 minutes of puffy grey smoke billowing out of the chimney.

This thing has got a learning curve that's MUCH higher than I ever expected. 

My wife says I may be able to figure it out if I was retired - but I'm not, and don't have half an hour to get this thing loaded, started and ready to cook every time.