Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time Spatchcocker and some cheesy potatoes with pix

I've never done a spatchcock before but it looks simple enough and when we decided on dinner I thought a quick 45 minute cook would be great instead of doing a beer can chicken which would take longer.  My oh my how plans change...Wife calls me when she's supposed to leave for work saying she has to fix something and it would be another 2 hours before she'd be home...Well, I had already cut up the chicken and put the potatoes on so oh well :)

Basically I just sliced up some potatoes really thin, and layered them on aluminum foil with cheese on each layer and painted butter on them as well.  Of course I added some bacon

Rubbed down with some Raging River Rub

Tried to raise the grid with some pop cans but that was futile as the wind was gusting and kept blowing them down so we tried some aluminum foil.

So I got the Egg up to about 400 and put the bird on....Potatoes had been on for about 35 minutes at this time

Took the potatoes off and then tented with some foil while I tried to delay the chicken as long as possible for my wife

Wife called and said she was about 20 minutes out but we had already taken the bird off because I didnt' want it to completely get ruined...Took it to 175 which is way more than I wanted but it still came out juicy and the legs and wings were pull apart tender.

I love the whole ease and short time of spatchcocking and I see me doing this much more often.  Bird was juicy and didn't have to worry about anything really.