Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pulled Pork

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a newbie and decided to try my 1st pulled pork. Had an 8# shoulder so thought about 16 hrs. to cook. Put on at 6:00 P.M. hoping it would be done at 10:00 A.M. next day. Dome temp. at about 225. I was hoping to take it off at 10:00 keep it warm in a cooler and golf 9 holes and impressing my company with the pork after golf. 10:00 A.M. it was not done so added some more coals. 5:00 still not done. Ate frozen pizzas about 8:00 o'clock. Company left and after letting dome temp. get to about 350, finally got the meat up to about 180 at 11:00 P.M. Let it sit for an hour and pulled about midnight. What went wrong? I did add some more coals ealier again. In previous recipes, I read the temp should be about 225. Is that the dome temp. or should temp be higher. Meat also seemed fatty. Is this the way it supposed to be or was it because I didn't let the meat get to about 195-200 degrees. Help!!! Thanks.

Comments

• Sigmore
    Sigmore Posts: 621
    Options
    Chuter, If you had to add coals 3 times you have not been reading this forum long enough understand that you need to throw that book away. 8^/

• badbruce
    badbruce Posts: 353
    Options
    Hi Chuter,
    Welcome.
    What I do is load up the egg with lump to just under the top of the fire ring and throw a pork butt on for about 20 -24 hours at a dome temp of 225 or so to a finished internal temp of 195/200.
    This is a fatty cut of meat, when I pull it I separate as much of the fat from the rest as I can.