Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help! Any ham experts out there?

The family has informed me they'd like for me to smoke a ham for Thanksgiving.  I have never done one on the BGE.  I need any and all suggestions on type of ham to buy, preparation, temperatures, times, glaze, etc.
Brighton, IL (North East of St. Louis, MO)

Comments

• I'm no expert (this is my first) but I'm doing the ham from the "Charcuterie" book. It's an 8 day cure with a 24 hour rest in the fridge before smoking. Going to get a fresh ham today I can post the recipe later if you like
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • jlsm
    jlsm Posts: 1,011
    For something truly sublime, cure your own and then smoke in the Egg. Lots of folks have great luck using cured ham from the store, though. Search. Or I'm sure someone will chime in.

Owner of a large and a beloved mini in Philadelphia
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    I'd suppose the family is asking for a "smoked" already cured and smoked ham. In other words, one finished on the Egg, using the Egg as a smoker.

The best I've done was using a recipe called "Dr. Chicken's Double Smoked Ham." There are 2 versions floating around. The first calls for too much orange extract in the injection. Do a search, it is quite popular. I used the earlier recipe w. too much orange extract, but the ham was still ridiculously rich and delectable.