Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Hip-Shot Roulade

Options
Fred19Flintstone
Fred19Flintstone Posts: 8,168
edited October 2012 in EggHead Forum

I call this Hip-Shot Roulade because when I went to the market for something to Egg, I had no idea what I would get so I shot from the hip!  I settled on a pork loin because I was reading recently (probably here) about a roulade and I wanted to do one.  I've never tried it before, but I decided to give it a go.  Problem: I'm in the middle of Kroger and have no idea what to buy so I was dreaming up ingredients as I went.  I ended up with green olives, roasted red peppers in a jar, bag of frozen spinach, feta cheese and shredded mozzarella.  I can't believe I forgot to buy onions!  Rounding out the ingredients back at the house were EVOO, Tone's Rosemary Garlic seasoning, onion powder and Grandpa Pig's "BAM!" spice (not commercial). 

I couldn't find butcher's twine at Kroger so I settled for metal skewers to "toothpick" it all together (it worked!).  I am not the most accomplished butcher, but I managed to butterfly the loin.  After that it was a matter of spreading the filling and rolling the thing up and toothpicking it.  I rolled it and Wilma stabbed it.  350 indirect until the IT was 140.  I think it took about an hour.  Rested for 15 minutes under foil and sliced.  It was flavorful and served with a salad, it was a nice supper.  Pork Roulade, Hip-Shot or otherwise will now grace our table pretty regularly.

Pictures to follow.  Sorry, no money shot with the salad because the natives were restless from hunger!