Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Great balls of fire

Options
mikeb9550
mikeb9550 Posts: 95
edited August 2012 in EggHead Forum
Well I don't have my outdoor kitchen done yet but did a trial fit of the egg and figured I would fire it up why I was at it. First cook was burgers. Used RO lump and the burgers had a funny taste from the charcoal. So today I decide to cook a couple steaks but this time the plan was to get it real hot to burn that crappy smell / taste out. It was like someone put out a camp fire taste/smell. Same smell u get by sniffing the bad. I am new to lump and like wicked a lot better for this reason. Anyhow, I get the BGE really hot (off the scale) - didn't take long. I opened the lid to clean the grate and whooosh. A huge fireball came out and scared the crap out of me. Burned my hair on my arm. Eye brows , eye lashes and hair on one side. It was right out of the movie backdraft. Now I read about. Burping the grill. So at what temp do u have to burp it?? I had no idea. Good thing I didn't get burned. Now I look for a fireball everytime I open the lid.

Comments

• Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    Options
    Read your last sentence again. Read your last sentence again. Read your last sentence again.

Look for it everytime. Burp every time, all the time, anytime you open it. 

creating fireballs is usually the result of closing the vents, starving the fire, then opening the dome, allowing an inrush of oxygen. Best way to avoid a pyrotechnical-facial is to burp it everytime!