Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Heavy-handed lump charcoal taste

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am fairly new to the BGE - been chillin' and grillin' for years. I used lump charcoal for my first few outings with BGE and found the smell and taste overwhelming - too acrid - almost bitter. I was using oak charcoal provided by my BGE distributor.[p]Since then I switched to charcoal briquettes but would like advise on a less potent lump charcoal. I have not used the BGE charcoal yet.[p]Thanks[p]Bill V.

Comments

• Sundown
    Sundown Posts: 2,980
    Options
    bill v.,
    I agree to some extent on the strong "flavor/taste" of the oak lump. My Egg dealer got in some Sugar Maple lump from Canada and I have to say there is a difference. Sugar Maple is much milder. Even mixed the oak and maple with pretty good results.
    Carey

• Spin
    Spin Posts: 1,375
    Options
    bill v.,[p]Oak lump is usually very mild. Your bag of lump may contain some pieces that have not totally converted to charcoal. These will definitely impart a strong flavor. The good pieces should weight very little with the bad ones being noticably heavier. It is also possible that you obtained a bad bag of charcoal. It has happened to others.[p]Spin

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Options
    bill v.,