Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help - Egg won't heat back up

farmers
farmers Posts: 2
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
Hi All - I'm a newbie, have had some great success already and love my egg!  Problem today, of course today a holiday when I have company coming is that I got my egg to 250 degrees - raised the lid, put the ribs on and it's been over 30 mins. and it won't go past 100 degrees.  I've got everything opened up and nada.  Do I need to take everything out and maybe relight charcoal??

Comments

• Brownie
    Brownie Posts: 1,023
    Are you sure you have enough lump? Did you just light your egg? Have you cleaned it recently? A little more info can help narrow your problem down to its root.
  • Brownie
    Chances are that if you had used lump in there, and raked the coals, your air holes are clogged. You probably just need to clean them out.
  • farmers
    farmers Posts: 2
    Thanks Brownie - I did add more charcoal and the holes were clogged - baby is smokin' now!  Happy Fourth!!
  • ccpoulin1
    ccpoulin1 Posts: 390

+1

i think Brownie nailed it.  It has happened to me, make sure the air holes are clear.  Good luck getting it going again, it should not be too bad

"You are who you are when nobody is looking"

• Brownie