Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

cooking BBQ

Options
Jerome Poole
Jerome Poole Posts: 44
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am going to try to cook 3 boston butts on the 4th I am concerned about holding the temp. between 250&300 for about 10 or 11 hrs. will this be a problem, I am new at this.
thanks for the help!

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,749
    Options
    JEROME,
    first read elder wards recipe under pork in the recipe section, theres 4 parts. my first cook in the egg was following those directions. i would however do a sample run first with a single butt, my first cook went about 20 hours at 220.

fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • Sandbagger
    Sandbagger Posts: 977
    Options
    fishlessman, are you doing the bone in butts. I've done two boneless butt cooks, (2 butts per cook) of the costco packages and both times the cooks never went more than 12 hours at 240ish temp. The 12 hours does not include the time in the cooler. tom

• MickeyT
    MickeyT Posts: 607
    Options
    JEROME,[p]A couple of questions need to be answered first. What is the weight of the butts, and what size egg do you have? That will determine your cooking time. Not really the size of your egg, but the weight.[p]Mick

• Chris
    Chris Posts: 148
    Options
    Sandbagger,
    Why do you put the bigger meats in the tin foil then a cooler or whatever after they are done??

• Jerome Poole
    Options
    MickeyT,