Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

BGE Lump

Options
War_Eagle_2244
War_Eagle_2244 Posts: 122
edited June 2012 in EggHead Forum

I'm still new to the Egg but I just finished my 2nd bag of BGE lump.  I have also been through one bag of Royal Oak.  The 1st bag of BGE lump was excellent.  Had some very large pieces and mostly good, medium sized chunks.  The 2nd bag was awful...worse than the Royal Oak.  Mostly fines and very few medium/large chunks.  It has been very difficult to get a good, even fire going...and takes for ever.  I guess because the tiny pieces don't allow for much air flow.  Anyway, have others experienced this kind of inconsistency with the BGE lump?  I know it was only the 2nd bag but I don't want to pay $25 on a crap shoot!

I'm going to get some Wicked Good tomorrow but the closest place that has it is about a 25-30 minute drive from my house.  Is Wicked Good worth it? TIA   

Comments

• Eggbertsdad
    Eggbertsdad Posts: 804
    Options
    Yes, it is worth it.....but if you want a really good charcoal and don't want to drive anywhere, order from Humphrey's charcoal...very good stuff! To deliver to South FL it was $37.99 for a 40 lb bag. Here's the link:

Sarasota, FL via Boynton Beach, FL, via Sarasota, FL, via Charleston, SC, via The Outer Banks, via God's Country (East TN on Ft. Loudon Lake)
  • homer71
    homer71 Posts: 13
    Options