Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Slow and low. How to reach and maintain temperature?

Options
Eggx
Eggx Posts: 1
edited May 2012 in EggHead Forum
I am new to Egg style cooking. Long experience with charcol cooking but not with Egg style grills.

I am trying to smoke salmon and where I am a bit stuck is how to reach the right temperature and how to keep it. If I lit too much charcol I expect I will be stuck at about 300/350 F. If I lit just a little, do not allow the egg to heat up above 200 and then keep the lower vent at about 1/4" open, the temp drops and the "fire" is out. I actually had to re-lit the charcole once today. Also, how do I make sure there is enough smoke there? Wood chips dry out rapidly even they were soaked overnight. Then it is just heat, no smoke in the egg...

Comments

• Bear 007
    Bear 007 Posts: 382
    Options
    Let it get up to 250°,  start closing it down, leave your 1/4 inch at the bottom and your top off, when it starts to rise again put on the top adjusting the top vent till it stabilizes at 250°. 250° is about as low as you can go and still keep it lit, theres  usually a sweet spot the egg likes to stabilize out at depending on your egg, maybe a little higher or lower than 250°. You'll get it give it some time.
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    all these questions are answered by the peculiar way the egg cooks.