Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Wood Chunks for Pork Butt

Options
alynd
alynd Posts: 130
edited March 2012 in EggHead Forum
This is my first time cooking a pork butt (8lbs).  I plan on starting it around midnight tonight and I think I have a handle on everything except for the wood chunks.  I'm using apple wood chunks, and I don't know how much to put in the coals.  Also, do I need to soak them before using them?  Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Hillbilly-Hightech
    Options
    For chunks, most ppl end up putting any where from 3-4 to 7-8 (the more you put, the more potential smoke you can get). 

Try to place them in various spots, not only left to right, but also "up & down" throughout the coals to maximize the fire's chances of reaching the chunks.

As far as soaking - I used to soak, but don't soak any more.  Some folks do, others don't.  If you keep the lid down most of the time, then you shouldn't have any worries about the wood actually catching fire & flaming up (it'll just sit there & smolder, and produce smoke that way). 

HTH,
    Rob
    Don't get set into one form, adapt it and build your own, and let it grow, be like water. Empty your mind, be formless, shapeless — like water. Now you put water in a cup, it becomes the cup... Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend. - Bruce Lee
  • tnbarbq
    tnbarbq Posts: 248
    Options