Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

aging beef tenderloin

uncledave
uncledave Posts: 90
edited March 2012 in EggHead Forum
I just picked up 3 beef tenderloins. How long should I age them? I will leave in the vacuum bags. I plan on cutting them into filets. Would dry aging be appropriate for tenderloin?

Comments

• centex99
    centex99 Posts: 231
    I'm no expert, but I think dry aging might leave too little meat left after you trimmed them from the ageing process/they shrunk as well.  I know a lot of people wet age meat in the cyrovac packs they come in for 30-60 days after their pack date (at least I've read that for briskets), again... not sure on filets...  Doing a little search, one place I see ages 21 days wet, then 7 days dry...  One thing I do know is you need quality choice or prime grade meat for aging...
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Have you aged (wet and dry) before?
    If you dry age it, you will end up with a much thinner hunk of beef. And i wouldnt dry age it very long for that reason. Ribeyes are mug bigger and dry more slowly, but even they shrink, losing as much as 20 percent of their weight. The diameter ofthe already thin tenderloin will shrink

You would get more condensed beef flavor, but unless you have a lot of internal fat (sometimes you get lucky), you wont also get the flavor from condensed fat, which is a major reason for dry aging. You also don't have the protection a layer of exterior fat offers, which helps to meter the rate at which it dries. Fat slows drying down