Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Can't sustain heat in BGE

kopac
kopac Posts: 6
edited March 2012 in EggHead Forum

I am a newbie to EggHead-dom; I just bought the medium Egg last week and have been slowly conditioning it with low temp cooks all week. Sunday I tried to cook steaks and although I got the internal temperature up to 600 degrees, I could not get it to go any higher.  When I opened the lid to throw on two ribeyes, the temp dropped back to about 525 degrees and in the first "2 minute sear" it never recovered back to 600 degrees.  By the time I flipped them the second time the temperature hovered around 450.  The final 3 to 4 minute cook was done at about 450 with the temperature never going back up to 600 degrees.  Even fanning the lower grate didn't help (top grate was wide open). There was plenty of charcoal, heaped about 1 - 2 inches over the fire ring holes, but they were not blocked.  I followed instructions in the book to the letter but never reached a high sustainable temperature.

Help!  I keep hearing everyone can cook at 600-750, but don't know how they do it (and keep the temperature from dropping down)!

Does the type of lump charcoal matter?  I'm using Trader Joes lump.  SOS--I don't want to have buyers remorse!

Comments

• 1st-Do the boil test on your dome therm.212 degrees boiling.The more you cook on your egg the more you will love it,NO REMORSE!!!!!!!!!!

LET'S EAT
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,657