Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Which one to go by?

Options
Rzeancak
Rzeancak Posts: 193
edited March 2012 in EggHead Forum
Hi i need a title help here.

I'm doing a 6hr smoke on a rack of ribs at 250F.

I placed my probe in fro the smoker and it's reading 280F and my dome thermometer also has the same reading.  But i put my food probe on the grill and it's displaying a temp of 250F.   

this is my first time doing ribs and third time using the grill.

Please help 

PS.  i have pics of all the other cooks soon to be on display
A child can ask questions a wise man can't answer!!!
Canada
Large @ Small BGE 

Comments

• Lit
    Lit Posts: 9,053
    Options
    Go by the dome and get it down to 250. Don't go by time watch the ribs and once they start pulling from the bone on the ends you are good. I also like to wrap te ribs in foil for an hour to help get them a little more tender.
  • ChokeOnSmoke
    ChokeOnSmoke Posts: 1,942
    Options
    You're best bet is to get a pot of boiling water going and test them.  You want about 212.  Then they'll be no guessing which is correct.
    Packerland, Wisconsin

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    After I bought my 1st Egg, I got a Maverick remote. I spent several cooks placing the grill probe in different places. I found temperature differences as big as 40F from near a piece of meat, to the grill edge, where air was flowing up around a platesetter. I would drop the probe down the daisy wheel holes, and get a different reading from the dome therm.