Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First attempt at Ribs - a live feed from the Egg...

Tank_NZ
Tank_NZ Posts: 53
edited February 2012 in EggHead Forum
Despite a hangover causing a late start for today - I decided to try my first long / slow cook.

Im keen for any feedback / suggestions - it is my first attempt and I really dont want to stuff it up.

So - where are we at:

Got ribs and removed the membrane:

Added (American) mustard and some rub:

Got the egg up to temp and stable at 250:

Just whips of apple wood smoke:

Add meat:

Temp dropped to 220 - 225 and has not come back yet - thinking of opening a little more to get back to 250 - going to be a late dinner as it is...cannot make it worse

Comments

• Tank,

Is it 7:30 am or am I messed up?

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• gerhardk
    gerhardk Posts: 942
    We are cooking 4 racks for dinner tomorrow, it looks like there will be nine of us (including 2 munchkins and 3 semi-aduts).  Cooking burgers for those that want one and cutting the racks into thirds so everyone should be able to have ribs, burgers or sausage.

• Little Steven - yep - was 1:30 pm when I posted that.

Just had the kids call who we were cooking dinner for.  They cannot make it.

Really disappointed.  Oh well, friends have jumped at the chance - so a impromptu dinner party here this evening.

Just looking to make a mop to put on at hours 3, 4 and 5.

• first mop - 80% apple juice - 20% apple cider
  • ready:

Steady:

go:

and ... gone (with some corn and green lipped mussels)

• Looks great.  Nice work
  • Nice cook!