Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Don't have to put you butt in chest if ready to eat

Mickey
Mickey Posts: 19,669
edited February 2012 in EggHead Forum
I may not be the only one not understanding that it is not law you must put your butt in the cooler after you take off grill. Stike called me on it and he is correct. I have 6 years on the egg (no experience with butts before egg) and thought it must be put in the chest for a minimum of an hour. This is just for information to people who thought like me: wrong. Thanks Stike.
Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

Comments

• What you get with the cooler is time for the meat temp to peak and a redistribution of fluids in the butt.
    I grill therefore I am.....not hungy.
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,657
    the cooler is for convenience for timing a cook, it ruins bark to a point. somehow its become law like cleaning out an egg before every cook. best part of a butt cook is picking the pork of the grate to snack on, it was never put in a cooler
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • the cooler is for convenience for timing a cook, it ruins bark to a point. somehow its become law like cleaning out an egg before every cook. best part of a butt cook is picking the pork of the grate to snack on, it was never put in a cooler

The cooks treat. My favorite part also.
  • Mickey