Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

BGE Lump with Nasties!

mustgrill
mustgrill Posts: 141
edited February 2012 in EggHead Forum

I am new to BGE, but not to Q. While lookig to see how much lump I had left after my first butt on a 17 hour cook. Which turned out great. I found some things I have never found in other lumps before. I thought I noticed last night the smell of pine at the lighting. I passed it off as new Egg? After digging around in the left over lump. I found a piece of pine, several pices of melted plastic and a very crisp piece of what looks to be nylon. The 20# bag was a frebee from the seller. I think I may not use BGE lump anymore? Have any of you long term users found things like this? I think I'll just go back to Cowboy and Royal Oak. Also I had a very dense black coating on the underside of my plate setter, black like pine soot. Please send me some of your suggestions?

PS: I am from the South I do know pine when I smell it.

Located in Western North Carolina

Comments

• Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    Sorry but you will find Royal Oak is BGE Lump and you might want to check out Cowboy as well.
    Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• I always do a quick check of the lump I dump in, if it looks weird, it gets thrown in the woods. i also have an interesting collecction of rocks.

someone posted here a while ago that the bags are usually overweight to cmpensate for the "extra" stuff.

XL   Walled Lake, MI