Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New Owner- Question

Hi54putty
Hi54putty Posts: 1,873
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum
First Post-
My wife gave me a Large BGE for Christmas and I am totally addicted.  I have cooked on it many times since then and have been on this forum at least once a day.  I really enjoy the discussion and help provided here.

As a NC resident I tend to default to pork but have really enjoyed fish and chicken as well...all relatively healthy recipes. 

I have a few accessories so far but am really wanting a cast iron grate. I have seen the one with the swing out upper rack and also the one with the split grate.  Both make sense for different reasons.  Any advice on the better overall choice? Thanks in advance.
XL,L,S 
Winston-Salem, NC 

Comments

• That is an excellent question for a new egger.  I forsee you accomplishing great feats with your egg. 

"Where the weak grow strong and the strong grow great, Here's to "Down Home," the Old North State!"

Med & XL

• hogaholic
    hogaholic Posts: 225
    I highly recommend the cast iron grate.  It is flat on one side which is perfect for fish and smaller things you don't want falling into the fire.  The other side leaves wicked sear marks on steaks.
    Jackson, Tennessee. VFL (Vol for Life)
  • Cowdogs
    Cowdogs Posts: 491
    edited January 2012