Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New member, new BGE arrives today

Options
Sounds2Good
Sounds2Good Posts: 15
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Greetings:

I am a newly registered member to this forum but I've been hanging around trying to learn some things before the arrival of my large BGE today. My first cook will be a skirt steak using the Cinco de Mayo Fajita recipe my wife found here.

My posts probably won't include all the nice photos many upload because I'm a legally blind cook. So, some of my questions might seem a bit odd, but I'm obviously going to work out some different techniques for getting the best from my BGE.

I currently have a Weber Genesis gas grill that I intend to continue using, but i expect to use the BGE more as I become proficient with it. I already have a "talking thermometer" and several years of grilling experience, including with a conventional charcoal grill my wife and I used in the 1980's. Obviously the BGE is used differently from that grill, but some things remain constant for good results: using no charcoal lighter and being patient with the cooking of large cuts of meat.

I love to cook, indoors and out; and of course I love to eat well-prepared food!

I'm happy this forum exists so that i may learn how to get the best from my BGE.

Comments

• loco_engr
    loco_engr Posts: 5,765
    Options
    Welcome!
    aka marysvilleksegghead
    Lrg 2008
    mini 2009
    XL 2021 (sold 8/24/23)
    Henny Youngman: