Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Indirect Cooking of Ribs?? (newbie)

JW
JW Posts: 10
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi,[p]I am attempting to cook 2 racks of Costco baby backs on a large Egg. I am just learning to cook with the Egg and BBQ in general. I would like to cook them indirect. [p]1) I don't have a grid extender but was wondering if the following would work. Weber 18 1/2 grate above the firebox. Pizza Stone on top of that grate Drip pan on the pizza stone. Main grate on top with ribs on it. [p]2) Does the drip pan have to have water in it or some other special setup? [p]3) Cook Time and Temp for the ribs. From reading some earlier posts it would appear dome temp 325-350 for around 3 hours.[p]Thanks, Jim[p]
3)

Comments

• Gfw
    Gfw Posts: 1,598
    05_02_0017_06_01.jpg
    <p />JW, the link is to the way that I cook baby backs - I have always had excellant results. The link contains both pictures and times. Last time I skipped the foil and they also turned out great. I have a tendancy to cook at lower temps - the results (as you can see from the pictures) is a crunchy outside and a very tender inside.[p]While I use firebricks, the setup you are describing should work great. Ribs are one of my favorites. Good luck!

[ul][li]Indirect/direct Ribs[/ul]
  • JW