Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New Firebox "Saw Cut"

Options
Primeggister1
Primeggister1 Posts: 379
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Just wondering if anyone has had any problems with the new firebox that has a saw cut?

The saw cut is to allow expansion and contraction of the material "ceramic" when under stress...like heat or movement.

Please let me know, I am curious.

Marc

Comments

• Wise One
    Wise One Posts: 2,645
    Options
    I've been using one in a large for about two years now and my box has not cracked. The one in my medium is doing well after 6 months or so.
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options
    No idea, but mine (not "saw cut") is cracked vertically in two places on opposite sides. Would imagine that the odds of both cracks happening at the same time are fairly slim, so I'm thinking it cracked once, essentially giving me the supposed stress relief, and then cracked again in SPITE of the stress relief.

I'm curious to see if the new ones work too.

I hate it when I go to the kitchen for food and all I find are ingredients!                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Michael 
    Central Connecticut 

• Carolina Q
    Options
    How did you get one two years ago? I thought they just came out with them a few months ago. Or do you know someone in the business? :laugh:

Michael 
    Central Connecticut 

• Wise One
    Wise One Posts: 2,645
    Options