Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Wife Doesnt Like Smoke Taste of Chicken - Options?

Options
quickdraw
quickdraw Posts: 15
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to the egg. I haven't cooked much on charcoal, but I'm starting to like this grill more than my gas grill.

I cooked some boneless /skinless chicken breasts on the egg indirectly using the platesetter. They had a heavy smoked taste after 35-40 mins and were perfectly cooked. I was using BGE charcoal.

My wife did not like the "smokey" taste. I know that I can cook direct with the dome open (already done that to redeem myself). What are my other options?

Is there a way to make the flavor less smokey? Should I be proactive and try to change the taste of the smoke with some wood chunks?

Thanks for the suggestions.

Comments

• Bobby-Q
    Bobby-Q Posts: 1,994
    Options
    Always cook with the dome closed.

Let the fire burn for about 30 minutes before you add any food if you want a "clean" burn. If you want a completely clean burn use fresh lump and let it go for an hour before you put the food on.

Adding wood chips will make the matter worse for your wife.
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,741
    Options
    its a rookie mistake. light egg. let it burn until the smoke smells clean, waft it over to your nose with your hand, dont want you to burn your eyes sticking your face over the dome, smells clean, your good to go. better yet, let your wife learn to do it, it desensitizes her to smoke. after a while you learn the smell, smells bad, tastes bad, smells good, tastes good
    fukahwee maine