Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork but looses too much weight during cooking

cikacule
cikacule Posts: 14
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
:huh: I am an absolute newbie but not a type A personality by any means (so please take it easy on me ;) ). I have learned how to control temperature and cook low and slow by doing loads of research and the good ol’ trial and error.
I have noticed after doing a few pork buts that they tend to lose a lot of their weight during cooking.
Example: 8.6lb but cooked for approximately 15hrs at around 200-250ish F (give or take) will yield me a 5.6lb cooked but (absolutely impeccably cooked) but still 3lb short????
Is this normal or am I doing something wrong??
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers from Canada.

Comments

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    No, that is completely normal, even a bit more finished product than average. Figure a 60 - 65% yield of original piece.
  • You can expect to lose quite a bit of weight. If your final product is good, then that would be normal weight loss. I'd only worry if your final butt was dried out. An 8 pound butt would probably be expected to produce about 4.8 pounds of cooked meat.
    The Naked Whiz
  • Sounds like an idea for a new diet program to me...

Just kidding.

I haven't done a butt myself, but I do know part of the low-n-slow technique is to render the fat and dissolve connective tissue. It would not surprise me to have lost a good bit of weight.