Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time ribs?

Options
Bubba's dad
Bubba's dad Posts: 97
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ok here is the deal - I have never done ribs before on the egg and need some direction. Like:

1. what to buy?

2 How do I prepare it?

3. Can I use the same rub I use for my butts?

4. Cooking temp?

5. When do I know to take it off the egg? Do I use the thermapen?

Thank you - thank you - thank you

Comments

• Misippi Egger
    Misippi Egger Posts: 5,095
    Options
    SAMs or Costco sell baby backs in 3 packs - uninjected meat.
    Beware of grocery store ribs - the fine print will often show they have been 'enhanced' - injected with various solutions.

Here is the link to CWM baby backs - follow his to the T and you will have awesome ribs:

http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/2002/06/baby-back-rib-class.html

Good luck!
  • Bubba's dad
    Options
    Thanks for the input - I would love everyones ideas on ribs.

Help
  • jeffinsgf
    jeffinsgf Posts: 1,259
    Options
    I personally prefer spares to baby backs, but I still use Car Wash Mike's method, for the most part.

Spares have a big flap of meat on the inside. Trim that off and cook it separately. It makes a great appetizer for the cook and special friends about 45 minutes before the ribs are done. I spritz with 50/50 beer and apple cider vinegar -- I'm not one to add sugar to a cook in much of any way, and I can't think of anything that resembles pure sugar water more than apple juice.