Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first cook - baby back ribs- UPDATE Pulled Pork

Options
BBQbadge
BBQbadge Posts: 35
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I finally was convinced by some friends and all you "eggheads" to get a BGE. I picked it up this week, assembled it today, and fired it up. I'm still waiting for my table (being made by a friend), but had to get it going.

I've done a lot of smoking with my WSM and ProQ smokers, but got tired of the constant tinkering with the temperature, water pan/sand, fuel reloads during cooking, etc.

Though I'm still a rookie with the BGE, you guys have helped me a lot in understanding how to setup, fire-up, and control the temperature.

I ran down to Sam's Club this AM to pick up some baby backs ($2.98/lb here in NC). I got 3 racks and cooked just 1.5 today (enough dinner for the family). Here's a pic of the "rubbed" ribs waiting to go on:

DSC00032.jpg

I put about 8# of lump (Royal Oak from Walmart) and started it off with my BGE electric starter. My 7 year old wanted to pose next to it:

DSC00034.jpg

I followed WessB's instructions (THANKS WESS!) and put these in a my rib rack for 3 hours at around 260 dome temp. After 3 hours, I wrapped in aluminum foil with some apple juice and put them back on for another 2 hours (they weren't quite ready after 90 mins) and then unwrapped and sauced them up:

DSC00037.jpg

After about 45 mins. with sauce (25 mins on top, 20 mins flipped). They were ready to take off. Another 15 minutes of resting, and they were perfect! Nice and tender, but still a slight tug on the bone.