Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My Green Heaven

Options
legal egg
legal egg Posts: 7
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a newbie. Jut got my first Big Green Egg last week for my combined birthday/Father's Day/Christmas present. And I absolutely love it. Already cooked up a couple great meals - salmon and pork tenderloin. And salmon and pork tenderloin never tasted better. My wife was a skeptic at first (we have four other grills, my egg cost $1K), but she's a believer now too. Anyway, I'm really excited about my egg, and from just skimming through this forum, I'm excited about being a part of the egg community as well.

So I do have a few newbie questions. Sorry if they've been asked before. I'm sure they have. 1) Is there still a need to keep the temp down the first handful of cooks, and if so, what's the number? I got my egg up to 650 my first cook (not on purpose) before taking it back down to 450, and maybe up to 550 the second cook before taking it down to 400. No gasket damage as far as I can see. 2) Is there any trick to reusing the lump charcoal? Worked pretty good my second cook but only after I lit the coals on the sides. 3) I'm already getting rust spots or some sorta discoloration on my metal top. Any advice on how to handle this?

And lastly, 4) any good ideas/recipes for my next cook?

Thanks,

Jack
Prairie Village, Kansas

Comments

• reelgem
    reelgem Posts: 4,256
    Options
    Just want to say "hi" and welcome to the forum and the egg family. Be sure to try and make it to an eggfest sometime, it's something you must experience.