Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What's the Difference

Again, I am a Newbie.
I do not understand what the difference is between an Egg and a conventional oven when it comes to some of the slow pot cooks.  Is there a flavor imparted to a casserole that is different? 
Weber Gas,  Large Big Green Egg, Mini Green Egg 

I am going to gain way too much weight now that I have a LBGE.

Comments

• jabam
    jabam Posts: 1,829
    Yes, smoke
    Central Valley CA     One large egg One chocolate lab "Halle" two chiuahuas "Skittles and PeeWee"
  • Driller
    Driller Posts: 56
    OK, thanks.  I kind of figured that.  I'm just unsure if I would wish to taste smoke in a lot of those dishes.  

• kl8ton
    kl8ton Posts: 5,410
    Rockwood is about the most neutral lump as far as smoke goes.  Also,  if you just did a low and slow cook, you may not want to follow with an apple pie for example. 
    Large, Medium, MiniMax, & 22, and 36" Blackstone
    Grand Rapids MI
  • EggMcMic
    EggMcMic Posts: 340
    In my experience the addition of different wood will give you different (and more/less) of the smokey flavor. I did a hashbrown casserole on the egg Sunday morning with no wood added and most did not know I used the egg. I make a mac-and-cheese on the grill and add some wood chunks and you get a nice smokey flavor to it. I have baked pies with no wood chunks added and it tastes like it is out of the oven. 

Bottom line (for me) is I can/will cook almost everything on the egg with as much or as little smoke as I desire.
    EggMcMcc
    Central Illinois