Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cooking 3 Slabs of Spare Ribs

EGGARY
EGGARY Posts: 1,222
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
First of all, thank you to everyone for the help last Sunday with Spare Ribs. I know I am a novice at some of thing but how else am I going to learn. So I cooked one slab and I overcooked the ribs. I went by time instead of temperature and feel.

So for Mother's Day, I am going to get back on the horse and this time I am cooking 3 slabs. I calibrated the thermometer last night, so hopefully that won't be a problem. I plan on doing the same thing with 3 slabs as I did with the one slab, Rub, 250 Dome Temp, Indirect, wood chunks, etc.

My question is by doing more than one, will it take longer to cook the Ribs compared to the on ? I need to figure out my timing so when it is 5pm and the Ribs will be ready to come off the EGG. I know a lot of this is common sense but I know myself too well too. :S

Thank you for all the advice.

Gary

Comments

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Putting 3 slabs on will drop the temperature more and longer at first than 1 slab. And, taking up more space, may block the airflow some until they shrink from cooking. All you are looking at is perhaps a little more time.

Always give yourself at least 5.5 hours for spares. If they are not quite done when you are close to serving, take the dome temperature up to 300, but mop to offset the drying effect.